Track racing dates back to the end of the nineteenth century and takes place on specially constructed track with banked walls. It is a discipline that requires specific skills as the bikes do not have brakes or gears and are controlled by a fixed cog system. Track cyclists are normally more powerfully built athletes, generally with far more muscle bulk than “road racers” due to the explosive nature of the sport.


The sport in KZN is managed and controlled by the KZN Track Commission that falls under KZN Cycling and forms part of the provincial body. There are currently two tracks in KZN – the Cyril Geoghegan Track in Durban and the Sax Young Track in Pietermaritzburg.


Track competition disciplines are made of ten events divided into three generic elements as follows:


Sprint Events

Individual Sprint (part of the Olympic programme)

Qualification consists of flying start 200 m time trials. These are followed by knockout heats of 2-3 laps. The best two riders fight it out in the final. Sometimes riders will come to a standstill in an effort to make their opponent take the lead, which is the least advantageous position before the final sprint to the finish line.


Team Sprint (part of the Olympic programme)

This speciality is raced by teams of three riders over three laps of the track (for women, 2 riders over 2 laps). Each rider leads for a lap before dropping back. After the heats, the 2 best teams line up to contest the final. Those who registered the 3rd and 4th fastest times meet up in a B final which decides the last place available on the podium.


Kilometre (or 500 m for women)

This is an individual time trial from a standing start. The competitor with the fastest time is the winner.


Keirin (part of the Olympic programme)

Between 3 and 7 riders compete in a sprint race of 600-700 m after having followed in the slipstream of a pacing motorbike for the first 1,400 m. The motorbike gradually increases the speed from 30 to 50 km/h (25 to 45 km/h for women).


Endurance Events

Individual Pursuit

Two riders start on opposite sides of the track and compete over 4 km (3 km for women). The winner is the rider who manages to catch his/her opponent or who records the fastest time.

Team Pursuit (part of the Olympic programme)

Two teams of 4 riders start on opposite sides of the track and compete over 4 km. The winning team is the one that manages to catch its opponents or that records the fastest time.

Points Race

The final result is determined according to points gained during sprints (one every 10 laps on a 250 m track) and by laps won. At the UCI World Championships, the distance is 40 km for men and 25 km for women.


Up to 18 teams of two riders take part in this relay race contested by means of intermediary sprints. While one team member races, the other slows down to take a rest. The classification is established according to the distance covered and the points won in the sprints. The Madison is held over distances of 25-50 km for Elite Men depending on the competition.

Scratch Race

This is a race for up to 24 individual riders over 15 km for men and 10 km for women. The first lap is neutralised.

Combined Event

Omnium (part of the Olympic programme)

The omnium is made up of 6 events and is disputed over 2 consecutive days.


The final classification is established as follows: the points accumulated by the riders over the first 5 events, on the basis of the points scale in force, are added up. During the 6th and final race, this total may increase or decrease according to the points won or lost by the rider. The winner is the rider who has the highest total of points at the end of the 6th event.



Scratch race (15 km)

Individual pursuit (4 km)


Kilometre time trial

Flying lapPoints race (40 km)



Scratch race (10 km)

Individual pursuit (3 km)


500 m time trial

Flying lap

Points race (25 km)



Track calendar 2019

 Date EventStart Time 
SAT 27 July 2019 Sax Young PMBLeague #114h00-16h00 
SAT 24 August 2019 Sax Young PMBLeague #214h00-16h00 
SAT 07 September 2019 Sax Young PMBLeague #314h00-16h00 
SAT 21 September 2019 Sax Young PMBLeague #414h00-16h00 
SAT 5-6 October 2019 Sax Young PMBKZN Champs08h00
SAT 07 December 2019 Sax Young PMBLeague #514h00-16h00 
*All events subject to change or cancellation due to lack of participation
* League events R100 per rider
* No loan bikes available on the day, please arrange in advance
Rebecca Lenferna

2021 KZN Track Champs

KZN Track champs is to be hosted in Pietermaritzburg on the 9th & 10th January 2021.  Closing date for entries is the 2nd January 2021.  Please e-mail entry form, indemnity form,

Read More »

Contact Details:

Darren Taljard – KZN Track Commissioner – Darren.Taljard@duys.co.za

Michelle Taljard – Secretary – kzn.track.cycling@gmail.com

Phone: 0834586677

KZN Cycling © Copyright 2019

Website: DSNet